RAC Cars News


UK Car Of The Year 2015

By raccars Published

Image Source

This year marked only the second edition of the UK Car of the Year awards, and 2015's overall winner was, the same as 2014, BMW. Twenty seven British motoring journalists judge the awards, which are given to 12 vehicle categories, plus one overall winner.

This year's winner of the overall title was also the winner in the Performance Car of the Year category. The BMW i8 is a hybrid with a three cylinder, 1.5 litre engine, assisted by a 96kW electric motor. The judging panel claims the i8 is a game changer in the electric car segment and the most progressive sports car in the world. Judges said it was different from all the other hybrids they had tested and called it the future of motoring, praising the way it combines exciting, high performance with efficiency and its good looks.

The two seater coupe manages to get from 0-60mph in 4.4 seconds, with a top speed of 159mph combined with fuel economy of 134.5mpg. It is the second model in BMW's new 'I' electric car sub-brand after the i3, and is expected to be followed by further models.

BMW's first mass market hybrid, the smaller i3, took the overall prize at last year's inaugural awards. Competition for the i8 as overall Car of the Year included the Rolls-Royce Ghost and the VW Passat Estate, but the i8 was a landslide winner, voted for by more than half of the judging panel.

Second place went to the Citroen C4 Cactus, which won the Best Small Hatch and third place to the Renault Twingo, which also took the Best City Car category prize. The Best Supermini award went to the Skoda Fabia, Best Family Car to the Ford Mondeo and Best Executive Car to the Mercedes-Benz C-Class. The Volkswagen Passat won its category prize for Best Estate and BMW took another prize for Best MPV, with the 2 Series Active Tourer.

The Porsche Macan was named Best SUV and another Porsche, the Boxster GTS was Best Open Top Car. The Jaguar F-Type took Best Coupe.

The UK Car of the Year awards are designed to be specific to the car buying public in this country, tested on British roads. To be eligible for this year's awards, cars must have been launched between 1 March 2014 and 15 January this year. Categories have been specifically designed for separate auto market segments with no crossing over, with each category winner put forward for the overall title. Winners are decided quite simply upon the quantity of votes rather than any complicated scoring system.

Looking to Buy?
Search for cars