RAC Cars News


Finalists Announced For World Car Of The Year 2015

By raccars Published

Image Source

The latest round of judging has taken place for this year's World Car of the Year awards, which has seen finalists chosen for each of the four categories and the overall title. Last year's overall winner was the Audi A3.

The final award winners will be announced on 2 April at the New York International Motor Show, before which, each category will be narrowed down to the top three contenders. Categories include World Luxury Car of the Year, for which contenders this year are the BMWs i8 and X6, the Lexuses NX and RC, the Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe and the Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB. The World Performance Car of the Year category includes the Audis S1, S3 and the TT/TTS, the Bentley Continental GT Speed, the BMWs M3 Saloon and M4 Coupe, the Jaguar F-Type R Coupe, Lexus RC-F and the Mercedes-Benz AMG GT.

Finalists for the competition's overall World Car of the Year title are the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Citroen C4 Cactus, Ford Mustang, Hyundai Genesis, Jeep Renegade, Mazda2, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Mini 5-door, Nissan Qashqai and Volkswagen Passat.

The competition is judged by a 75 strong international panel of automotive journalists, who have voted for eligible new models this year to come up with ten finalists in each category. There is a further Green Car of the Year category, which goes through a slightly different selection process, whereby five experts in green technology select five options, from which the main judging panel goes on to choose a winner. This year, the Green Car of the Year finalists are the BMW i8, Hyundai ix35 Fuel Cell, Kia Soul EV, Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine and the VW Golf GTE.

A similar process occurs for the World Car Design of the Year shortlist, which is compiled by design experts and this year's includes the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Citroen C4 Cactus, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Porsche Macan and the Volvo XC90.

The judging process began in October last year in Paris, where the judging panel undertook testing of the eligible models, while the setting moved to North America in November, to allow the judges to get to grips with local contenders there.

Last year's winners, apart from the Audi A3, included the Mercedes-Benz S-Class in the Luxury Car category, the Porsche 911 GT3 as World Performance Car, and the BMW i3 for both World Car Design and World Green Car 2014.

Looking to Buy?
Search for cars