RAC Cars News


Audi A3 is World Car of the Year

By raccars Published

Image Source

Among the events of the New York Motor Show was the announcement of the Audi A3 as World car of the Year for 2014, beating off the BMW 4 Series and the Mazda3 as its main competitors in the finals.

This was the tenth edition of the awards, which are judged by an international panel of 69 automotive journalists. More than 300 automotive and media bodies attended the awards press conference, where executives from the winning manufacturers accepted their trophies. The first ever edition of the award was won by the Audi A6, so this year's win rounds out the decade nicely, although the company has now won seven awards over the course of the series.

This year, the number of voting categories was increased to five with the addition of an award for World Luxury Car. Overall, however, BMW dominated the individual categories. Two awards were won by the i3 electric vehicle: World Car Design of the Year and World Green Car of the Year. The second and third place finalists for the respective awards were the Mazda3 and Mercedes-Benz C-Class, and the Audi A3 Sportback g-tron and Volkswagen XL1.

The World Performance Car of the Year title went to the Porsche 911 GT3, ahead of other finalists, the Ferrari 458 Speciale and the Corvette Stingray. The new World Luxury Car of the Year award went to the Mercedes-Benz S-Class, which beat the Bentley Flying Spur and the Range Rover Sport to the initial prize.

Other contenders for the main World Car of the Year prize included the BMW i3, Cadillac CTS, Citroen C4 Picasso, Ford Mondeo, Infiniti Q50, Jeep Cherokee, Lexus IS, Peugeot 308 and the Skoda Octavia. The initial list of vehicles considered numbered twenty four, which was whittled down to a twelve strong shortlist before the three finalists were selected. Vehicles that qualify for awards eligibility must have been on sale between 1 January 2013 and 31 May 2014 on at least two continents.

Jurors were said to be impressed by the A3's sharp by classic design, interior fit and finish and its satiny ride quality.

Previous World Car of the Year award winners include the VW Golf, VW Up!, Nissan Leaf, VW Polo, VW Golf, Mazda2, Lexus LS460 and the BMW 3 Series, in descending order, to the Audi A6 at the inaugural prize giving in 2005.

Looking to Buy?
Search for cars